Goals for my self

31 Oct

The idea here is one I saw online (www.triplux.com/dayzero) and instantly realized was a good plan for organizing all the thoughts flitting around in my head, which is to make a list of 101 goals for yourself and try to get them all done within 1001 days- which is like 275 days. My challenge will start once I finish making this list.

1- Graduate College

2- Recertify EMT lisence

3-Publish Climbing Zine

4- Publish Cuddle Puddles and Hot Pants #2 before the end of college

5- Get a real website for Approaching Apocalypse zine distro

6- Fill my sketch book with drawings (working on it)
7- Get a dog from the pitbull rescue people

8- Become a piercing apprentice/ piercer

9-Run a marathon

10- Run 5 5ks (1/5  [ran it in 25:35, which was slower than I wanted, but not bad considering how cold it was, at least there was no frostbite])
11- Learn to roller skate well

12- Plant a garden

13- Get more tattoos (have gotten 2 more)
14- Get Wilderness EMT certified

15- Draw a tattoo myself that I get line for line

16- Get a non Bank of America bank account

17- Do Food Not Bombs whenever in RIchmond, no slacking (Done 2/2)
18- Drink 64 ounces of water a day minimum

19- Walk all the streets in RIchmond and highlight them on a map once marked (Jim Straub style)

20- Publish a more political zine

21- Finish and Publish book on contemporary radical activism

22- Learn to ride a fixed gear bike

23- Get a fixed gear bike

24- Dumpster more food than I buy

25- Hug at least one person every day (29/1001)
26- Practice drawing enough to get good and start working in a tattoo shop (working on it)
27- Figure out what I want my knuckles to say- More Than, Grit Yall, etc.

28- Stop drinking soda ever at all any

29- Cut corn syrup out of diet

30- Avoid putting sugar in coffee ever

31- Go rockclimbing somewhere outdoors in Virginia

32- Learn to Kayak

33- Get a bike cart

34- Learn to play the washboard

35- Go to clinic defense at least once

36-Go to a city council meeting, just to see whats up
37-Buy vegetables from local farmers during the summer
38-Participate in vegan potluck whenever possible (so far, so good)

39-Go to at least one show a month (1/33)
40-Read The Autobiography of Malcolm X and other books about civil rights and black power movements

41-Be climbing consistantly enough to climb 5.11s
42-Finish sewing on the patches I’ve been meaning to sew on
43-Not ever buy any pepsi. coke, or Phillip Morris products
44-Spend more money at thrift stores than non-thrift stores

45-Have a healthy relationship that lasts longer than 2 months
46- Lift weights at least once a week
47-Go running at least twice a week
48-Do 50 situps before bed every night
49-Do 10 pushups before bed every night

50-Don’t ever go back to deoderant or shaving
51-Stay vegan
52-Stay edge

53-Read one book/zine for pleasure every week (4/143)
54-Ride in 2 Critical Mass rides a year (0/6)
55-Listen to one CD I love a day

56- Take at least 5 Juijitsu classes (0/5)
57- Get Virginia EMT certified

58-At least look into taking a Paramedic course

59-Go on at least 1 multi-night camping trip

60-Look into taking a NOLS, Tom Brown, or Ruckus outdoor course

61-Go out of my way to be nice at least once a week(4/143)
62-Write a letter a week to someone (4/143)
63-work on communication skills
64-Find a place I like to volunteer at and volunteer at least once a month (ie- SPCA) (1/33)

65-Create posters/stencils that reflect my political beliefs and spread them around

66-Research squatting in Virginia, consider squatting some buildings in RIchmond
67-Help organize/work in a community garden
68-Ride the Virginia ‘diamond’ on coal cars

69-travel by freight train on a good length trip

70- travel by hitch hiking for a large distance

71- Never get married (unless very very financially helpful)
72-Never own a car, use bike and public transportation
73-Find a way to work on SPanish skills
74-Learn how to screen print and actually build one and do it
75-Make some sweet stencils and patches
76-Make buttons with button maker
77-Wake up early and exercise or stretch or read at least 5 days a week

78-Cut down on TV/Movie watching
79- Play a board or card game at least once a month with friends(1/33)
80-Go skinny dippin in the James

81- Ride my bike naked
82-Get a job cooking somewhere
83-Do a complete overhaul of belongings and donate / recycle everything that is no longer relevant/needed (after graduation)

84-Travel to the west coast to visit friends and see what it is like
85-Go to a tattoo convention
86-Go to a zine convention
87-Organize at least 10 sports games with friends- tag/soccer/hide and seek etc. (0/10)
88-Learn more hula hoop tricks- fire hooping

89- Organize an infoshop
90-Organize a social center
91-Never eat out more than once a week, and if you do, then can’t eat out the next week (0/143)

92-Attempt meditation or yoga
93-learn to drive stickshift well
94-Keep a budget, write it down so I know what I’m making and what I’m spending

95-Complete at least 20 sewing projects (2/20)

96-Adopt a cat from the pound
97-Visit the Edgar Allan Poe museum in Richmond

98-Read all of the books I own, listen to all the cds I own, watch all the DVDs I own
99-Go on 5 hikes (0/5)
100-Actually save some money in savings account
101-Start a club ofsome sort in Richmond

4 Responses to “Goals for my self”

  1. anarchymo October 31, 2007 at 5:54 am #

    So I’m starting this challenge Nov. 1, 2007, which means, 1,001 days later, on Thursday, July 29, 2010 I have to be done. Weeee!

  2. anarchymo November 29, 2007 at 12:42 pm #

    29 days into this, and I’m making decent progress. I do need to up the ante in terms of some of the habit- goals, like the 50 situps, 10 pushups, waking up early to exercise etc. Time to get hardcore. I’m running a 5k this weekend though!

  3. Charlie November 30, 2007 at 6:44 pm #

    Incredibly weird (to me) that you are into tattooing and other forms of decorative mutilation, but you don’t like shaving or carnivory.

    Tattooing and piercing are a huge endorphin rush, the experience is much more like taking drugs than any other artistic endeavor I’ve ever participated in. I’ve met several tat’n’pierce fanatics who are hooked on that rush, like long distance runners who hunger for “the wall”.

    Myself, I’m an adrenaline junkie, but I can appreciate a good endorphin rush too. MUCH stronger and better than externally generated drugs, better than freebase even.

    Do you consciously satisfy the normal human desire to be a predator with your piercing activities? Do you think you lack such desires, and the piercing thing is more about the rush? Seriously, not trying to start a fight.

  4. anarchymo November 30, 2007 at 9:15 pm #

    I understand why you think it is weird to be into tattooing and piercing but not
    shaving or carnivory, but I think that you are over looking issues of oppression
    and other moral issues. Because I think that just the chemical reaction that one’s
    body has to any activity in no way justifies that activity. Just like how I might get
    a sweet rush kicking someone, it doesn’t mean that is a lifestyle I ought to embrace.
    Shaving, particularly for women, is something that we are encouraged to do by
    the patriarchy and by capitalism. We are supposed to by a lot of products in order
    to shave our legs so men will find us attractive. Even I, radical as I might hope to
    be, find myself wanting to shave my legs because of the images that tv and other
    media thrust at me. Shaving becomes, for women within the oppressive capitalist
    society a capitualtion to the demands of the oppressor. or that is one interpretation.
    I think killing other sentient living beings for one’s own pleasure (whether it be to
    eat, to wear, to entertain) is immoral and wrong. That is why I am against carnivory.
    It is plain ol’ wrong.

    I’m not sure that there is a normal human desire to be a predator. And I would also
    argue that if there is, then the way that most 1st world people live and eat doesn’t
    satisfy that desire either. Buying the corpse of some poor animal at the grocery
    store is not very predatory.

    Tattooing and piercing are things which I choose to do, which I do not feel are
    pressed upon me by any oppressive factor in society. I do not think my participation
    in them is immoral or particularly harmful. Whereas drugs are harmful, physically
    and mentally.

    I think that whenever we feel ‘addicted’ to something or some feeling we ought
    to seriously question that and reconsider our relationship to that activity. Whethe
    it be running or drugs or tattoos, you have to monitor your relationship to the
    activity. Do things for the right reasons.

Comments are closed.

