Straight Edge Zines

24 Nov

I’ve been looking to find zines written by straight edge people or just about reasons for not drinking/smoking/doing drugs. I really really like it when these issues are discussed in anarchist circles. I wish there was more crossover between the straight edge scene and the anarchist scene. A lot of straight edge kids are mainstream politically (or even conservative- like the anti-abortion hardcore kids) and I think that turns a lot of anarchists off of the idea of straightedge.

It is hard to be straightedge in anarchist and punk scenes. Most people don ‘t get it, I definitely catch a lot of shit for it, and it can be isolating.But another major issue is that even when people do get it and sympathize I still have to watch my friends do horrible things to their brains and bodies that are hurting them and their communities. It is sad, bottom line. ANd it makes me mad, but I trynot to yell at them because then they put me in the stereotype box of an angry unaccepting straight edge kid. Sorry for not wanting to see my friends a) get hurt, b) have emotional and mental issues, c) face addiction, d) turn into fuckwads who don’t DO anything with their lives.

Some Zines I have seen so far that deal with substance abuse issues:

Towards a Less Fucked Up World

Ruff Sketch

Arson

I’m going to try to start carrying copies of straight edge zines if available, and I have also written briefly about it in CUddle Puddles and Hot Pants Issue #1, which is available at Approaching Apocalypse ZIne Distro (www.myspace.com/approachingapocalypse). The next issue should also contain a longer article about straightedge, drugs, and anarchists.

14 Responses to “Straight Edge Zines”

  1. Julie November 28, 2007 at 11:33 pm #

    Mo – I stumbled on your blog thru Abby’s. Glad to see it – I enjoy keeping up with several friends this way. How is best way for me to get copy of your zine? -Julie

  2. DruglessxF December 2, 2007 at 1:45 am #

    I write a zine called falloutkid. I would love to mail you a copy. If you wanted to distro it, that would be cool, too.

  3. Idetrorce December 16, 2007 at 5:44 am #

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  4. XVbikepirateVX March 28, 2008 at 2:46 pm #

    As a vegan straightedge anarchist, I completely agree with you. I came from a background of heavy alcoholism and addiction, turned my life around, and am having a hard time watching my old friends continue to destroy themselves on a daily basis. Each person’s choice is her or his to make, but I don’t have to agree with it.

    I really found the piece you put up about sober spaces within the punk/anarchist scene to be interesting, too.

  5. xmicahx May 13, 2008 at 4:28 am #

    I was seriously going to say what XVbikepirateVX said almost word for word. i never thought i could my own storey from some elses mouth.
    Anyway, im a vegan straight edge anarchist from Australia and i do a vegan straight edge anarchist hardcore zine called Hold Your Ground. I’m happy to send anyone a copy, i might distro it and put it up on the net too. I’ve only done one issue but seriously considering doing a next. I also wrote a straight edge rant/ article (not my best) on my friends online zine/blog at differencebetweenzine@blogspot.com. I’m really keen for other straight edge zines too, how can i get a hold of Towards a Less Fucked Up World, Ruff Sketch and Arson?
    I don’t have my own blog or myspace but you can contact me through the above online zine or my partners band’s myspace http://www.myspace.com/makethemost

    xmicahx

  6. xmicahx May 15, 2008 at 8:04 am #

    I was going to say pretty much what XVbikepirateVX said word for word. Its funny to actually hear my own story from some else’s mouth. I’m a vegan straight edge anarchist from australia and i do a vegan straight edge anarchsit zine called Hold Your Ground. I’ve only done one issue so far, thinking about doing a second but i would be happy to send a copy to who ever wants one. Also how do i get a hold of Towards a Less Fucked Up World, Ruff Sketch and
    Arson?
    I don’t have my own my space or blog but you can contact me either through myspace.com/makethemost or differencebetweenzine@blogspot.com

    xmicahx

  7. Swanny January 22, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

    Hi there,

    I am just some random that googled “Anarchism Straight Edge” out of pure curiousity and stumbled across this site.

    I have many friends who are straight edge and none which are anarchists.

    Let me just tell you that, if you do some research you will find that some “drugs” which generally “intoxicate” individuals can get across strong “spiritual”/internal messages unable to be translated via word/song/art?

    Also, that these same drugs cause little to no harm to the human body?
    I am guessing you are a fan of hardcore as I am myself, you do understand that the foundations of the music which gave birth to Ian MacKaye’s way-of-living would not exist without massive amounts of LSD?

    Furthermore, why do you have to attach yourself to a label? Calling yourself Straight-edge or Vegan is exactly the same as calling yourself Christian or Muslim.

    You are selling out your own ideals to somebody elses ideals.

  8. Swanny January 22, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

    I am what common man would call an “Atheistic Anarchistic Misanthrope” (entirely FYI) and I do have an actual interest in what you have to say, so please respond.

  9. Emma February 12, 2009 at 9:03 am #

    hey swanny, I think no one has responded because the message that came across from your post wasn’t one of being interested in other people’s opinions, it was one of intolerance and snobbery. As for your advice to do more “research” I think perhaps you need to do some more of your own, before you criticise other people’s beliefs and lifestyle. When you’ve seen a friend’s life destroyed by drugs, that’s all the “research” you need, to decide for yourself not to seek that same fate. By the way, veganism is a food choice, not a religion, and if you can’t tell the difference between a valid and positive lifestyle choice and a ‘label’, you’re even less aware than I first thought.

  10. Swanny February 23, 2009 at 5:29 pm #

    The reason anyones life is ever “ruined” by drugs (or anything) is because the “victim” is not educated correctly or not at all. Too often do we see the anti-entheogen social agenda rammed down our throats by our lawmakers and assumed experts.

    Its fair enough to say “heroin, cocaine, meth” and similar substances (for the uneducated straight-edge advocate, weed, DMT, LSD and other psychadelic substances produce no dependency issues and have little to no adverse effect on the human body, besides of course, as we all know, the effects of inhaling concentrates of burnt plant matter) are “evil” and should not be ingested by anyone ever because of their obvious (just take any of those drugs and you’ll know its terrible for you) “negative” results. Humans have been using psychadelic plants for centuries. When we sleep, REM is caused by the release of DMT from the “Third eye” AKA the pituitary gland. Our conciousness is simply the release of certain neuro-toxins which alter our thought process. These same neuro-toxins are found everywhere in nature and when used recreationally, can assist lifeforms in reaching higher levels of conciousness then any sober act ever could. I, and many of the worlds most amazing brains are in agreement on this. Example: What would your perception of reality be like if you KNEW what it was like to die? DMT is released from the brain when one dies. These are the “lights” everyone talks about. When you die you are very fucking high.

    Veganism SHOULD BE a dietry choice and nothing more. But, be aware that only in meat and dairy will you find certain bacteria which encourage a healthy immune system to survive many of the common illnesses that plague our race. Furthermore, meat is strongly linked to the development of the frontol lobe.
    To say that this dietry choice is postive/healthy is mis-information and sadly, many young people with great intentions are ruining their genes. The meat industry (as with all industries) is fucking evil. When profit comes into the equation, everything becomes corrupt.

    Emma, you have been mislead. I see no intolerance and snobbery. If arrogance is mistaken for snobbery, I apologise. You have to understand that someone like me is wary of the workings of everything. The reason I can “criticise other people’s beliefs and lifestyle” is because I know all there is to know about their beliefs and lifestyles. I am not saying that to gain some kind egotistical erection but because its honestly true.

    I give a fuck about human freedom, human decency and human dignity. Stop playing “blind but happy” and open your face.

  11. Bryce Buchanan April 19, 2009 at 4:29 am #

    Swanny…

    If you were gonna ask why people label themselves than you shouldn’t be on this site or even searching for sites like this.

  12. xdamax November 25, 2009 at 10:13 pm #

    “The reason anyones life is ever “ruined” by drugs (or anything) is because the “victim” is not educated correctly or not at all. ”

    things are not black and white.
    there are people fully aware of the destructive side of substances or any other things in their lives but they still want to get fucked,and this might be for the lack of will,self esteem and so on…

    and veganism SHOULD NEVER be ONLY a dietary choice because this is nota bout a reform or a personal choice,its about those who live in urban areas and have no food around …so if these people have to support,with buying the best choice is veganism.
    but if its not allied with every other struggle its nothing.so no never only a dietary choice…plus not supporting animal made clothes,soaps,shampoos,pills,blabalab is not strictly part of a diet.
    s

  13. derek January 21, 2010 at 1:52 am #

    anyone who says marijuana is not addictive is straight up lying! i dont do shit now, and i will “label” myself edge. buuut, i will be the first guy to tell you marijuana IS addictive when i stopped smoking after 15(?) years i suffered headaches galore and general discomfort. not to mention i was mentally addicted as well. dmt, lsd and all that shit dont open some mythical and magical world. they make you a fucking idiot and dull you to no end. im fucking sick of hippies like you.

  14. derek January 21, 2010 at 1:53 am #

    sorry for the militant tone, im not in the greatest of moods. i apologize.

Comments are closed.

