New Orleans, questioning the future

21 Dec

I’m in New Orleans, in order to avoid the capitalistic and christian ordeal that is Christmas. I’m known as replacement Mo down here, which is a constantly amusing thing.  Everyone is really nice, and it is a lot of fun. It is a little hard that everybody drinks and smokes all the freaking time, but I’ve certainly dealt with that issue before. I’m also into waking up without a schedule. Too often I am still controlled by a protestant work ethic that is socially ingrained in me that says I have to be scheduled and working on certain things all the time. I definitely need to loosen up a lot, this helps. It is hard work getting rid of all of the crap you’ve been socialized into. Slowly killing the voices in my head that tell me people who don’t work are lazy. Slowly killing the voices in my head that try to make me feel bad about myself for not being ‘productive’ for the capitalistic beast. I really question what I want to do in a couple months. I’ll be done with school for permanent, and I have a lot of options. I don’t want to get too tied down, and I don’t want to get too routinized. I do that too easily, which means I need to seriously question it. I can be doing things that are amazing and creative and awesome for me, but without getting into a rut. I like routine to the extent that it enables me to do shit like go running and work out a lot, but I dislike it when it kills my adventure. I’ve always lived stably, I’ve been extremely privileged in that, but I think it is time to stop that. Cause it might not be right for me. But I need not a typical travelling life either. Cause I would not be happy drinking a lot and sleeping a lot and not doing anything. I want to be able to read and write and run a zine distro and be an activist etc. But with some train rides thrown in. It doesn’t make it any easier that travelling kids tend to be mad beautiful people, inside and out. They make me happy. I don’t really think I would feel comfortable owning a house in Richmond. Maybe squatting is the answer. And as much as I want to pierce and tattoo, I don’t want to have to work 60 hour weeks. That is what SIHF does, and  I’m sorry, I don’t care that freaking much. We’ll see, I guess.

3 Responses to “New Orleans, questioning the future”

  1. Fweeb December 21, 2007 at 9:05 pm #

    I’m sorry, but you really should re-analyze your perspective here. Productivity and routine are not attributes that are exclusive to capitalism. In fact, they’re completely independent. Beware, in the rest of this comment, I may or may not sound like a douche.

    Let’s start with productivity. In essence, it’s what? Getting stuff done, whatever you might define “stuff” as. Humans, like any other animal, are productive not from socialization, it’s genetically ingrained in each of us as a means of survival, both mental and physical. A very large portion of productive people aren’t that way because they were socialized into being that way. They’re driven that way internally by a variety of things: a need to eat, a passion for the task, compassion for someone who relies on them. It’s how we stay alive and sane. This is especially apparent on people in isolation. Anyone who has experience with wilderness survival knows that the best thing to do is to keep your mind and body active… effectively: be productive or die.

    As to the question of routine, most mammals are creatures of routine. Again, it’s not socially ingrained. It’s a survival instinct. Granted, these instincts can be amplified and augmented socially, but that certainly is not limited to capitalism. And the root of it lies in the notion of sticking with something that works.

    You’re very smart, but your outlook kind of sucks on these points. You’re no less socialized than anyone else. You’re just choosing a different society and conditioning yourself to think that anything that might appear to be related to common western society is inherently negative and worthy of rejection… effectively throwing the proverbial baby out with the bathwater and becoming less open-minded in the process.

    There’s a middle ground… and on it you can cut your own road.

  2. anarchymo December 22, 2007 at 5:25 pm #

    I understand that routine and productivity are not the exclusive domain of capitalism,
    and I’m not trying to knock them universally. However, I shouldn’t have dumbass pangs of guilt
    just because I’m not ‘working’. Also understand that here I am talking about the types
    of work and productivity that capitalism considers good. So I shouldn’t feel bad for
    just reading all day, but sometimes I do. I enjoy being productive, but I also think
    that sometimes I take it too far and end up concentrating on that and not actually enjoying
    myself or life. Personally, I have a tendency to be boring. And maybe that is right for me, but maybe not, and I would like to try other things.

  3. Jason G December 27, 2007 at 4:09 am #

    Mo,
    Here’s a blog by a Richmond FNB “pioneer” that you should check out.
    htt://stakolee.blogspot.com

    Keep in touch.
    Jason

Comments are closed.

