Freegan- From Cuddle Puddles and Hot Pants # 2

2 Feb

Freegan is a variety of vegan which in my interpretation will eat non-vegan food if doing so does not contribute to the exploitation of animals. This is usually when such food is obtained for free. Some people will say they are freegan and thus can eat cake at a party if someone offers it to them, or can steal non-vegan food from the grocery store. Personally I think those examples are kind of cop outs. I’m not comfortable with eating cheese at a party just because it is technically ‘free’. And I don’t think I understand the economics of it enough to be comfortable with stealing milk from a store. I would be worried that those actions still contribute to the economies which exploit animals. For me, FREEGAN means I eat some non-vegan things if they are in the trash. So dumpster diving I eat non-vegan food. But I cannot stomach pure dairy or meat. I do not eat eggs, milk, cheese, or corpses from a dumpster. Because while these are technically freegan, I think my stomach has gone long enough without digesting them that it would be quite unhappy. I generally only consume non-vegan things in the guise of baked goods such as Krispy Kreme donuts and Panera’s chocolate raspberry cake. because, secondary to my animal liberation stance is my belief that consuming dairy and meat is not healthy. By limiting what I eat as a freegan I am limiting my consumption of gross food. And I don’t really think I take it far enough yet. I have recently been considering a total break with corn syrup and sugar. They do not ever make my body feel good. But it is also going to take me some time to break away from them I think. So far I have stopped drinking soda and putting sugar <!– @page { size: 8.5in 11in; margin: 0.79in } P { margin-bottom: 0.08in } —in my coffee, which at leasts cuts back on my consumption of crap. Freegan can be a way to get away with eating the excesses of a civilization which is not only cruel, but also wasteful, even if these excesses are not necessarily good for you. I’m not knocking freegan, but personally I’m working on realizing that just because I CAN get away with eating a whole freaking bag of krispy kremes. doesn’t mean it is a good idea.

 

4 Responses to “Freegan- From Cuddle Puddles and Hot Pants # 2”

  1. loren February 15, 2008 at 10:36 pm #

    hi mo,

    from what i’ve understood, many times the term freegan is used as a play on the term vegan to say that they’ll eat anything, but won’t take part in the money market. they only get things for free and will not deal with money in any sort.

    i agree in many ways with what you’re talking about; i also see the act of being a vegan to be as a symbol to others and, if you’re at a party eating cake or something, people can’t say ‘hey why aren’t you eating cake?’ and you can’t help them find their compassion through conversation.

  2. anarchymo February 16, 2008 at 10:33 pm #

    Loren
    I wouldn’t be at a party eating cake, just because the cake was free to me at the party, I think I explained that. Pretty much anything that is not vegan that I eat is consumed in a dumpster or near it. And when people see me eating like a donut, usually they know me to be vegan, so I tell them how the food came from a dumpster cause there is an incredible amount of good food in dumpsters that is being thrown away everyday. I tell them how because it came from a dumpster it is not contributing to the economy of animal exploitation. Freegan to me means eating from the trash, not eating whatever you are offered at a party, that is just being irresponsible. I do a lot of helping people find their compassion through conversation and I do not think that my being freegan stops that at all.

  3. takepillsdie March 2, 2008 at 8:58 am #

    a chain is only as strong as it’s weakest link. we are making it all up. lets make it work for everyone! yeah! that way we all win! wow! the end of poverty everywhere! can you imagine it? if you can’t, and think it’s lame, doesn’t mean it’s not there/everywhere. thank you 🙂

  4. xveganx September 19, 2008 at 5:47 am #

    i have freegan tendencies because as you get more and more serious about living cruelty-free and more and more educated about what animal products you consume…you start discovering through research that freeganism is by far more cruelty-free than any consumerism (vegan or not). the packaging of vegan products is almost always non-vegan, the transportation method to deliver the products is horrible for the environment, the dyes to color the packaging can be made from and tested on animals, fertilizer used on crops can be purchased from factory farms, adhesives in the packaging (in the cardboard itself in some cases) can be animal derived, you support a corporation and pay someone’s wage which they will then spend on animal products, etc…being an anti-consumerist vegan/freegan minimizes if not erases your monetary support of animal cruelty. freeganism also stops the economic enslavement of other countries for our “luxury” items and “cashcrops” (alcohol, tobacco, sugar, chocolate, coffee, etc…). stealing non-vegan items is not freegan because the products are covered under shrinkage and they just replace the product with insurance money (some companies have a blanket shrinkage amount regardless of what’s stolen just in case) and eating stuff someone else bought isn’t freegan either (cake at a party) or then every kid living at home could rationalize eating veal and pate all day long as long as his/her parents were buying it. i have been freegan/vegan for over 13 years (vegan for over 17 years) and i feel that freeganism is without a doubt more cruelty-free than a consumerist vegan. eating waste is the only true way not to contribute to the disgusting materialist and capitalist so-called society we are stuck with and have the social responsibility to change.

Comments are closed.

