Anarchists Wanted

19 Jan

There is a lot of activism to be done in Richmond. It makes me feel in some ways obligated/ responsible to do as much as physically possible. It is especially hard because there are few other organizers in the city right now. There are definitely a lot of folks with good hearts and enthusiasm, but not with activism as a priority. We need more bottomliners. And I know part of that is needing to empower more people to initiate events. I’m working on that. I’m writing on article with tips on organizing to go in Cuddle Puddles and Hot Pants number 4.

Vegan Straightedge Anarchists are where it is at! I love tight pants, crusty, overalls, hotpants, greasy hair, acoustic guitar, zine writing, squat living, train hopping, hitch hiking, vegan, dumpster diving, anarchist, sober, polyamorous people. Please, lets be friends. Lets live a life full of whimsy. I don’t have much whimsy in my life right now, definitely partly my fault, but I would love some partners in crime (metaphorically speaking, neither myself nor anyone I know would break the law).

If you are in the Richmond area and wanna get involved in a project, holler. I can help people in terms of figuring out how to organize and tap into existing networks. And I can still use help myself doing that too.

Richmond = Critical Mass, Really Really Free Market, Anti-Bank of America Demo, Anti- Circus Demo, Animal Defense League, Anti- Dominion Demo, Anarchist Black Cross and movie showings, Food Not Bombs, LAbor Pool Free Food Program, Clinic Defense, Reproductive Freedom Project ETC. If you can dream it you can do it. Or something : )

I can’t wait for it to be warm outside. I can’t wait to turn the truck I just got into a veggie oil truck. I can’t wait to have friends visit. I can’t wait to dumpster dive and climb shit and read good books. But seriously, give me some anarchists please.

No application needed.

5 Responses to “Anarchists Wanted”

  1. Henrik January 22, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    I feel your need. Too bad I don’t live in Richmond but rather here in Turku, Finalnd. I just actually moved here from Minneapolis. This is something some of the locals came up with here and I thought it was pretty creative: http://www.naphouse.org/

  2. Nathan February 3, 2009 at 9:22 pm #

    i’m moving to richmond sooooon! revolution’s just a heart beat away!

  3. The Red Son February 12, 2009 at 7:09 am #

    I feel your need. Despite Hawai’i being a colony, there is very little activism and even fewer marxists or anarchists.

  4. Carl February 20, 2009 at 3:48 am #

    I think i might be able to help you out a little brother! I’m currently in Harriisonburg right now, former south florida boy. Anyway, I am all things that you said in a nutshell, crusty, vegan, straight-edge, dumpster diving, train hopping, acoustic playing, crust-punk trying to make a difference in the world, it’s so funny how you described everything I am and everything I’ve been looking for in a friend. I want to help, but theres really nobody around to share my values with, or anybody that even seems to care. I have a friend that live in Oregon Hills, but it seems all the people in that area that pride themselves on being political activists or good willed people of any sort do it for superficial reasons, as it has now become ‘the cool thing’ to be socially aware, but when it comes down to it, they couldn’t care less about pakistan being raped in the gaza strip, or the execution today, or absolutely anything for that matter. I’m so glad I stumbled upon this website! Currently i’m looking for a partner to hike the appalachian trail with me come may, I think it would be delightful. Let me know how I can help!

    ~warm regards, Carlito Frito

  5. Sarah May 26, 2009 at 7:46 am #

    I live in Richmond. Interested in many things you posted about. Train obsessed. And would like to train hop someday with some cool people.

Comments are closed.

