Country Music and Anarchists

21 Feb

I just have to wonder if there are any other radical or anarchist people out there with an affinity for shitty pop country music? I’m talking Miranda Lambert, Little Big Town, Trace Adkins, Josh Turner, Sugarland, Zac Brown Band, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Dierks Bentley, Carrie Underwood, Billy Currington, Alabama etc.

Even though it seems like at least half of this music is about stuff I stand strongly against- like America, Christianity, capitalism, war, beer, sexism, and meat, I still really like it.

But there are other aspects, like Miranda Lambert singing about shooting a man who was abusing her, or Free Bird by Skynyrd that really rule.

Part of it is also attributable to Southern Pride.

Weird huh? Your thoughts?

2 Responses to “Country Music and Anarchists”

  1. The red son February 26, 2010 at 4:54 am #

    I like synyrd and some Shania twain. But mostly I like older country like Johnny cash, Merle haggard, Willie Nelson and others.

  2. Briana April 7, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

    I once met this anarchist jamaican dude who LOVED shitty country music like kenny chesney. i still know all the words to “that dont impress me much” by shania twain… thats about it for me haha

Comments are closed.

