Too bad about most of humanity

21 Nov

Its really too bad about most of humanity. They kind of suck.

Recurring theme in my life- conflict with people who refuse to take a stance on any issue or situation until they feel it directly affects them. Which is a bullshit way to live your life. Yes, take the time to get the information and make a decision on situations and issues, but don’t use your privilege or lack of direct participation in that situation be your cop out from having to do anything.

There is that famous quote from Pastor Martin Niemöller about WW2-

“They came first for the Communists,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Communist.

Then they came for the trade unionists,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Jews,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Jew.

Then they came for me
and by that time no one was left to speak up.”

I remember learning about that statement sometime in middle or high school history I think. And it definitely stuck with me. I wish it spoke to more people, who not only would read it, but would do their best to live their lives with it in mind. If we wait until something directly affects us, it could be too late. And even if we don’t think that their will be the inevitable shift of oppression to ourselves, the fact that it is happening to others SHOULD be enough to push us into action.

But people mostly strive to preserve and build their own privilege. Adages such as mind your own business have convinced people that they are better off struggle independently in capitalism to find the best little consumer identity their money can buy. Maybe thats not it. I am open to other explanations for why most people try so desperately to not help out others, to avoid acting in solidarity at all costs.

And to the critics- no I am not claiming that I never avoid a situation that doesn’t affect me or that I always act in solidarity with other groups dealing with fucked up or oppressive situations. Instead of trying to find a way to criticize me, why not reflect upon yourself and your own actions. I am an hypocrite. We are all hypocrites. But that does not invalidate our ideas and values. Not having achieved one’s goals does not invalidate the goals themselves.  Trying to avoid the issue and turn it into a personal attack is just a cop out. Grow up.

